Sunday, Mar. 29, 2020


Mercedes Introduces New Naming System

Written By:


December 11, 2014


Posted In:

Mercedes Introduces New Naming System

Mercedes Introduces New Naming System

Confused about the names of Mercedes-Benz vehicles? You are not the only one. Mercedes has just announced a plan to clear up the confusion by changing the naming system used to identify their vehicles.

By overhauling the nomenclature used to identify it’s line-up, the automaker is hoping to make it easier for people to identify their models, especially as they prepare to launch 30 models, including 11 all-new vehicles by 2020. The others will enjoy new body variants and drive systems. “This results in an increasingly complex situation when it comes to naming the models,” the company said in a statement. “After more than 20 years of continuity involving some of the most recognized and successful product names in the world, we are now making our system of vehicle nomenclature even more understandable.”

The new naming system is a “simpler, more transparent and more logical system for the designations of our model series, with the aim of providing clear orientation for our customers.”

Other luxury brands, including Cadillac and Infiniti have already introduced new naming systems, or plan to. Mercedes says that the new nameplates will begin to appear next year, with the launch of redesigned or freshened versions of their crossovers and SUVs.

Mercedes-Benz will now offer five base models: A, B, C, E and S. Crossovers will have a GL in their name as a tribute to the “legendary G class.” The following letter will be indicative of the vehicle’s size, similar to the system used in sedans. The compact GLA retains it’s name, as does the G, while the compact GLK becomes the GLC, the midsize M-class becomes the GLE, the fullsize GL will now be known as the GLS, and the all-new midsize coupe based on the ML will become the GLE coupe.

Four-door passenger cars with coupe styling will all begin with CL, and the third letter will refer to the car’s size. These include the compact CLA and larger CLS sedans. Two-door roadsters will now sport the SL designation, with a third letter indicating size. The SLK will be renamed the SLC.

Non-gasoline-powered engines will also receive new designations, with a single letter in lower case displayed on the trunk lid. C will represent natural gas instead of Natural Gas Drive. Instead of BlueTEC or CDI, D will be used for diesel. E for electric, replacing Plug-in Hybrid BlueTEC Plug-in Hybrid and Electric Drive. F will be used for fuel cell and H for hybrid instead of Hybrid and BlueTEC Hybrid. All-wheel drive vehicles will continue to be known as 4Matic. Engine size suffixes will remain the same.

Finally, high-performance AMG vehicles will now be named Mercedes-AMG, and the high-end S-class has been renamed Mercedes-Maybach.

Look for the new naming conventions to start appearing next year.

By Linda

Share This Article

Related News

The 1,000 Horsepower Ferrari FXX K
Automotive Rumours For 2016
Return Of The Maybach

About Author

Leave A Reply

Leave a Reply