Sunday, Oct. 20, 2019


Formula 1 Records To Beat This Year

Written By:


June 19, 2014


Posted In:

Formula 1 Records To Beat This Year

Formula 1 Records To Beat This Year

Technology is improving, and old Formula 1 records are just waiting to be beat by it. As this year’s season kicks off in North America, which records will be shattered? Globally, there are still 13 races left and Mercedes is leading. Of course, there are some new rules that might affect things. Gone are the naturally aspirated 2.4 liter V8 engines, replaced by a of 1.6 liter, turbocharged V6. Horsepower is capped at 600, down from the previous 750. Fuel allotments are now restricted to 100 kg.

Ten years ago, 12 of the current 18 standing records were set, many by Michael Schumacher. With the new rules in effect, it’s likely that those records will remain. Schumacher’s car in 2004 was a Ferrari F2004 with a 3.0 liter V10 engine. Considering today’s allowable engines, it’s likely that the records will remain. Here are the standing records waiting to be beat.

At the 2004 Australian Grand Prix, Schumacher set a record time of 1 minute, 24.125 seconds before winning the race in a total of 1 hour, 24 minutes, and 15.757 seconds. By comparison, this year’s winning time on the same track was a much longer 1:32:58.710.

Also that year, Schumacher set records for the fastest lap at the Bahrain Grand Prix with a time of 1:30.252, the fastest lap at the Chinese Grand Prix (1:32.238), and the fastest lap at the Monaco Grand Prix. At the Hungarian Grand Prix, he not only set a lap record time of 1:19.071, but went on to win the race with a total time of 1:35:26.131. Schumacher had a great year in 2004. A year earlier, he also set a lap record time of 1:8.337 and finished first at the Austrian Grand Prix.

Other records still standing from 2004 are Juan Pablo Montoya’s lap records at the Malaysian Grand Prix and at the Brazilian Grand Prix, Rubens Barrichello’s lap records set at the Canadian Grand Prix and the Italian Grand Prix; and Kimi Räikkönen’s record lap times at the German Grand Prix, the Spanish Grand Prix and the Belgian Grand Prix.

More recently, standing lap records were set by Räikkönen at the Japanese Grand Prix in 2005 and Fernando Alonso at the 2010 British Grand Prix.

The remainder of the records belong to German driver Sebastian Vettel who seems to have replaced Shumacher as the one to beat. In 2009 Vettel set the standing lap record for Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, the U.S. Grand Prix in 2012 and the Singapore Grand Prix in 2013.

By Linda

Share This Article

Related News

The World’s Greatest Endurance Race Rules Changing This Year
Ferrari Theme Park Coming
Mercedes Team Caught Up In F1 Scandal

About Author



Leave A Reply

Leave a Reply